Performance
Leaderboards
4 rankings.
Fusion triple product (nTτE)
10²¹·m⁻³·keV·s · 1 further device not ranked: fewer than 3 in the peak group
| # | Device | Operator | Value10²¹·m⁻³·keV·s | As published | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Tokamak Fusion Test Reactor Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory claimed1995-02-17 | Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory | 0.79 as published: 7.9 × 10²⁰ m⁻³·keV·s | 7.9 × 10²⁰ m⁻³·keV·s | claimed 1995-02-17 |
| 2 | Joint European Torus UK Atomic Energy Authority claimed1991-11-02 | UK Atomic Energy Authority | 0.61 as published: 6.1 × 10²⁰ m⁻³·keV·s | 6.1 × 10²⁰ m⁻³·keV·s | claimed 1991-11-02 |
| 3 | JT-60U JAEA claimed1998 | JAEA | 0.56 as published: 5.6 × 10²⁰ m⁻³·keV·s | 5.6 × 10²⁰ m⁻³·keV·s | claimed 1998 |
| 4 | DIII-D General Atomics claimed1997 | General Atomics | 0.37 as published: 3.7 × 10²⁰ m⁻³·keV·s | 3.7 × 10²⁰ m⁻³·keV·s | claimed 1997 |
| 5 | Alcator C MIT Plasma Science and Fusion Center claimed1984 | MIT Plasma Science and Fusion Center | 0.12 as published: 1.2 × 10²⁰ m⁻³·keV·s | 1.2 × 10²⁰ m⁻³·keV·s | claimed 1984 |
| 6 | C-Mod claimed2016 | — | 0.074 as published: 7.4 × 10¹⁹ m⁻³·keV·s | 7.4 × 10¹⁹ m⁻³·keV·s | claimed 2016 |
| 7 | Wendelstein 7-X Max Planck Institute for Plasma Physics claimed2017 | Max Planck Institute for Plasma Physics | 0.0517 as published: 6 × 10²⁶ K·m⁻³·s | 6 × 10²⁶ K·m⁻³·s | claimed 2017 |
| 8 | Alcator A MIT Plasma Science and Fusion Center claimed1978 | MIT Plasma Science and Fusion Center | 0.024 as published: 2.4 × 10¹⁹ m⁻³·keV·s | 2.4 × 10¹⁹ m⁻³·keV·s | claimed 1978 |
| 9 | ASDEX UPGRADE Max Planck Institute for Plasma Physics claimed2016 | Max Planck Institute for Plasma Physics | 0.022 as published: 2.2 × 10¹⁹ m⁻³·keV·s | 2.2 × 10¹⁹ m⁻³·keV·s | claimed 2016 |
| 10 | Experimental Advanced Superconducting Tokamak Institute of Plasma Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences claimed2015 | Institute of Plasma Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences | 0.0096 as published: 9.6 × 10¹⁸ m⁻³·keV·s | 9.6 × 10¹⁸ m⁻³·keV·s | claimed 2015 |
| 11 | KSTAR Korea Institute of Fusion Energy claimed2014 | Korea Institute of Fusion Energy | 0.0096 as published: 9.6 × 10¹⁸ m⁻³·keV·s | 9.6 × 10¹⁸ m⁻³·keV·s | claimed 2014 |
| 12 | ST40 Tokamak Energy claimed2025 | Tokamak Energy | 0.008 as published: 8 × 10¹⁸ m⁻³·keV·s | 8 × 10¹⁸ m⁻³·keV·s | claimed 2025 |
| 13 | ASDEX claimed1988 | — | 0.0072 as published: 7.2 × 10¹⁸ m⁻³·keV·s | 7.2 × 10¹⁸ m⁻³·keV·s | claimed 1988 |
| 14 | TFR claimed1981 | — | 0.0052 as published: 5.2 × 10¹⁸ m⁻³·keV·s | 5.2 × 10¹⁸ m⁻³·keV·s | claimed 1981 |
| 15 | NSTX claimed2009 | — | 0.0048 as published: 4.8 × 10¹⁸ m⁻³·keV·s | 4.8 × 10¹⁸ m⁻³·keV·s | claimed 2009 |
| 16 | MAST claimed2006 | — | 0.0045 as published: 4.5 × 10¹⁸ m⁻³·keV·s | 4.5 × 10¹⁸ m⁻³·keV·s | claimed 2006 |
| 17 | PLT claimed1976 | — | 0.0032 as published: 3.2 × 10¹⁸ m⁻³·keV·s | 3.2 × 10¹⁸ m⁻³·keV·s | claimed 1976 |
| 18 | GLOBUS-M2 Ioffe Institute claimed2019 | Ioffe Institute | 0.0014 as published: 1.4 × 10¹⁸ m⁻³·keV·s | 1.4 × 10¹⁸ m⁻³·keV·s | claimed 2019 |
| 19 | ST claimed1972 | — | 2.4 × 10⁻⁴ as published: 2.4 × 10¹⁷ m⁻³·keV·s | 2.4 × 10¹⁷ m⁻³·keV·s | claimed 1972 |
| 20 | START claimed1998 | — | 6.1 × 10⁻⁵ as published: 6.1 × 10¹⁶ m⁻³·keV·s | 6.1 × 10¹⁶ m⁻³·keV·s | claimed 1998 |
| 21 | T-3 claimed1969 | — | 2 × 10⁻⁵ as published: 2 × 10¹⁶ m⁻³·keV·s | 2 × 10¹⁶ m⁻³·keV·s | claimed 1969 |
Ion temperature
keV · All ranked figures are peak. · 2 further devices not ranked: fewer than 3 in the sustained and qualifier not stated groups
| # | Device | Operator | ValuekeV | As published | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Tokamak Fusion Test Reactor Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory claimed | Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory | 43.95 as published: 5.1 × 10⁸ K | 5.1 × 10⁸ K | claimed |
| 2 | JT-60U JAEA achieved2001 | JAEA | 21.5 | — | achieved 2001 |
| 3 | Joint European Torus UK Atomic Energy Authority claimed1991-11-02 | UK Atomic Energy Authority | 18.6 | — | claimed 1991-11-02 |
| 4 | DIII-D General Atomics claimed1997 | General Atomics | 18.1 | — | claimed 1997 |
| 5 | ST40 Tokamak Energy achieved2022 | Tokamak Energy | 9.6 | — | achieved 2022 |
| 6 | ASDEX UPGRADE Max Planck Institute for Plasma Physics claimed2016 | Max Planck Institute for Plasma Physics | 8 | — | claimed 2016 |
| 7 | MAST claimed2006 | — | 3 | — | claimed 2006 |
| 8 | C-Mod claimed2016 | — | 2.5 | — | claimed 2016 |
| 9 | Experimental Advanced Superconducting Tokamak Institute of Plasma Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences claimed2015 | Institute of Plasma Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences | 2.1 | — | claimed 2015 |
| 10 | KSTAR Korea Institute of Fusion Energy claimed2014 | Korea Institute of Fusion Energy | 2 | — | claimed 2014 |
| 11 | PLT claimed1976 | — | 1.54 | — | claimed 1976 |
| 12 | Alcator C MIT Plasma Science and Fusion Center claimed1984 | MIT Plasma Science and Fusion Center | 1.5 | — | claimed 1984 |
| 13 | NSTX claimed2009 | — | 1.2 | — | claimed 2009 |
| 14 | GLOBUS-M2 Ioffe Institute claimed2019 | Ioffe Institute | 1.2 | — | claimed 2019 |
| 15 | TFR claimed1981 | — | 0.95 | — | claimed 1981 |
| 16 | Alcator A MIT Plasma Science and Fusion Center claimed1978 | MIT Plasma Science and Fusion Center | 0.8 | — | claimed 1978 |
| 17 | ASDEX claimed1988 | — | 0.8 | — | claimed 1988 |
| 18 | ST claimed1972 | — | 0.4 | — | claimed 1972 |
| 19 | T-3 claimed1969 | — | 0.3 | — | claimed 1969 |
| 20 | START claimed1998 | — | 0.2 | — | claimed 1998 |
Energy confinement time (τE)
s
| # | Device | Operator | Values | As published | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Joint European Torus UK Atomic Energy Authority claimed1991-11-02 | UK Atomic Energy Authority | 0.8 | — | claimed 1991-11-02 |
| 2 | JT-60U JAEA claimed1998 | JAEA | 0.69 | — | claimed 1998 |
| 3 | Tokamak Fusion Test Reactor Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory claimed1995-02-17 | Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory | 0.28 | — | claimed 1995-02-17 |
| 4 | DIII-D General Atomics claimed1997 | General Atomics | 0.24 | — | claimed 1997 |
| 5 | ASDEX claimed1988 | — | 0.12 | — | claimed 1988 |
| 6 | KSTAR Korea Institute of Fusion Energy claimed2014 | Korea Institute of Fusion Energy | 0.1 | — | claimed 2014 |
| 7 | NSTX claimed2009 | — | 0.08 | — | claimed 2009 |
| 8 | ASDEX UPGRADE Max Planck Institute for Plasma Physics claimed2016 | Max Planck Institute for Plasma Physics | 0.056 | — | claimed 2016 |
| 9 | Experimental Advanced Superconducting Tokamak Institute of Plasma Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences claimed2015 | Institute of Plasma Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences | 0.054 | — | claimed 2015 |
| 10 | C-Mod claimed2016 | — | 0.054 | — | claimed 2016 |
| 11 | Alcator C MIT Plasma Science and Fusion Center claimed1984 | MIT Plasma Science and Fusion Center | 0.052 | — | claimed 1984 |
| 12 | MAST claimed2006 | — | 0.05 | — | claimed 2006 |
| 13 | PLT claimed1976 | — | 0.04 | — | claimed 1976 |
| 14 | TFR claimed1981 | — | 0.034 | — | claimed 1981 |
| 15 | Alcator A MIT Plasma Science and Fusion Center claimed1978 | MIT Plasma Science and Fusion Center | 0.02 | — | claimed 1978 |
| 16 | ST40 Tokamak Energy claimed2022 | Tokamak Energy | 0.012 | — | claimed 2022 |
| 17 | ST claimed1972 | — | 0.01 | — | claimed 1972 |
| 18 | GLOBUS-M2 Ioffe Institute claimed2019 | Ioffe Institute | 0.01 | — | claimed 2019 |
| 19 | T-3 claimed1969 | — | 0.003 | — | claimed 1969 |
| 20 | START claimed1998 | — | 0.003 | — | claimed 1998 |
Plasma duration
s · All ranked figures are sustained. · 1 further device not ranked: fewer than 3 in the qualifier not stated group
| # | Device | Operator | Values | As published | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | WEST CEA claimed2025-02-12 | CEA | 1,337 | — | claimed 2025-02-12 |
| 2 | Experimental Advanced Superconducting Tokamak Institute of Plasma Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences claimed2025-01-20 | Institute of Plasma Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences | 1,066 | — | claimed 2025-01-20 |
| 3 | Wendelstein 7-X Max Planck Institute for Plasma Physics claimed2023-02-15 | Max Planck Institute for Plasma Physics | 480 | — | claimed 2023-02-15 |
| 4 | KSTAR Korea Institute of Fusion Energy claimed2024-02 | Korea Institute of Fusion Energy | 48 | — | claimed 2024-02 |