Skip to content
FusionBenchmark
Tokamak Energy — image published by the organisation
Picture published by Tokamak Energysource ↗
Tokamak Energy

Tokamak Energy

🇬🇧 GB · Founded 2009 · Active

Tokamak Energy is a private company in Oxfordshire, spun out of the UK Atomic Energy Authority in 2009. It builds spherical tokamaks, a compact form of the tokamak, and its ST40 device, operating since 2018, reached a plasma ion temperature above 100 million degrees Celsius in March 2022. ST40 is being upgraded in a $52 million programme with the US Department of Energy and the UK Department for Energy Security and Net Zero. Through its TE Magnetics division it develops high-temperature superconducting magnets; its Demo4 magnet system reached 11.8 tesla in 2025. It is magnet systems partner for the UK's STEP prototype plant under a £70 million contract running to 2029, and had raised about $335 million by 2025.

Sector
Fusion, Supply chain
Technology
Spherical tokamak
Fuel
Deuterium–tritium
Role
Fusion developer, Supplier

It is the operator of record for ST40 (operating). Measured results for ST40 are listed below.

Its recorded equity, $125m, is the 17th largest of the 25 organisations with a priced round here. Not every round is on record, so this is not its total raised.

It also holds 2 awards or agreements with no cash figure, which are not added to any total.

Terms

Spherical tokamak
A tokamak squeezed towards a cored-apple shape. The tighter aspect ratio holds plasma pressure with less magnetic field, which is efficient, but leaves very little room at the centre for the central column.
Deuterium–tritium
Lowest ignition threshold; 80% of energy in 14.1 MeV neutrons. The reference fuel for every near-term net-gain claim.

Funding

$125m
equity in the 1 round recorded here
2
commitments with no cash figure
  1. 2024-12-05
    Grant
    Public co-funding of a $52 million ST40 upgrade programme announced 5 December 2024 with the US DOE and the UK Department for Energy Security and Net Zero (DESNZ). The company says the $52 million "is divided evenly among all three partners", so Tokamak Energy funds a third itself. The two public contributions are to a joint programme, not stated as cash to the company, and their form (grant, cost share or in-kind) is not stated. No amount is recorded.
    Unpriced
  2. 2024-11
    Equity round · Growth
    $125 million announced 20 November 2024, co-led by East X Ventures and Lingotto Investment Management (neither has an organisation record yet). The release's "$335 million raised since 2009" mixes $275 million private with $60 million UK and US public funding and is not a deal.
    $125m
  3. 2023-05
    Milestone-based award
    DOE Milestone-Based Fusion Development Program
    Unpriced

Results

Design values

Design values for devices operated by Tokamak Energy. These are what a machine was built to do, not results.
DeviceParameterValueUnitStatus
ST40Major radius0.5mdesign valueclaimed
ST40Minor radius0.3mdesign valueclaimed
ST40On-axis magnetic field3Tdesign valueclaimed
ST40Plasma current2MAdesign valueclaimed
ST40Plasma duration (nominal)1sdesign valueclaimed

Devices

People

  • Dr Chris MartinChairman
  • Warrick MatthewsChief Executive Officer
  • David Gray CBENon-Executive Director
  • Sir Warren East CBENon-Executive Director
  • Daniel FreemanNon-Executive Director
  • Erik BoninoNon-Executive Director
  • Martin KleppeNon-Executive Director
  • Itxaso ArizaChief Technology Officer
  • Christian LowisGeneral Counsel and Company Secretary
  • Dr Liam BrennanManaging Director, TE Magnetics
  • Dr Michael GinsbergPresident, Tokamak Energy Inc.
  • Dr Ross MorganPresident, Tokamak Energy K.K.; Managing Director of Fusion
  • Dr Mike PortonCompany Chief Engineer
  • Jane ShannonDirector of People & Engagement
  • Dr David KinghamFounder and Senior Advisor · founder
  • Dr Mikhail GryaznevichCo-founder · founder

Related companies

Sources